Very interesting… I think. =P

So, about a year ago Level 5 announced a new RPG for the DS called Ni no kuni. Now, what makes this game so special? It’s a joint project between Level 5 and Studio Ghibli, which is famous for creating many different animes including Princess Mononoke, Spirited Away, Kiki’s Delivery Service, and my Neighbor Totoro. The Tokyo Game Show trailer is here:

Now, this does look like it would be a solid, oldschool, handheld RPG. Well, I found out today that they’re making another version of the game… for the PS3.

While I found the DS game to be somewhat intersting, I also didn’t have to decide whether or not I cared, since I don’t actually own a DS. Now I’m in a rather different position. I actually haven’t seen many Studio Ghibli movies, in fact, I’ve seen one. *Ducks to avoid stones* The only thing they made that I’ve actually seen (so far) is Princess Mononoke.

Now, I’ll be honest, I thought it was a good movie. It was very well paced, had great animation, and the characters were enjoyable enough to bring the movie through, but this doesn’t mean that I agree it deserved all the praise it got. It had a rather generic storyline, and to make matters worse, I think they were trying too hard with the symbolism.

Still, I’ve heard great things about many of their other movies (Grave of the Fireflies, Spirited Away, Gedo Senki, Kiki’s Delivery Service, etc…) and I do want to actually check these out at some point. So, there’s no denying these games will be artistically amazing (because that trailer does look amazing), but then we get to level 5.

I have to be honest, I kind of hate level 5. I truly hated the Dark Cloud games. I could spend hours ranting about everything that’s wrong with them, but I don’t think that’ll get us anywhere. To make matters even worse, the only real games they’ve made recently (that I’ve heard of in the last few years, at least) are Rogue Galaxy (yeah, not exactly recent) and White Knight chronicles, which didn’t get the best reviews. To be fair, I have heard nothing but great things about the Professor Layton Series, but since I don’t have a DS, I can’t really comment on them (my understanding is that it’s a puzzle game series, but I could be wrong).

So, here I sit, with what could be the trailer for a true masterpiece of a game, and I’m not sure how I feel about it. I want Level 5 to impress me, I even wanted to like Dark Cloud (but I really, really don’t). My only concern with studio Ghibli’s involvement is that the story might be a bit childish, as some of their movies seem to be. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed playing through Kingdom Hearts and going back through all those Disney movies I grew up with, but that was nostalgic for me. It’s not that I couldn’t sit through one of the Disney movies I grew up with today and even enjoy it, but when it comes to a turn based RPG, that I should be spending at least 30 hours with, I expect a story that will grip me and make me want to play all the way through.

Still, I’m very glad to see some more turn based RPGs being released for the PS3, we need them, no matter how they turn out.

Alright, that’s enough for tonight, I’ve been rambling on for quite a bit. おやすみなさい! =D

-Felirc-

Leave a Reply

