Well, I’ve got another headache.

I’m seriously beginning to think it’s an allergy that I have around this time of year. Ah well, I didn’t let it interfere with my Japanese studies, so I guess it’s not that big of a deal.

Well, I still haven’t managed to make up my flashcards yet. I know I should have gotten around to it today, but it’s too late now. =P I’m hoping I can fit it in tomorrow, but I’m going to have a fairly busy day. Course, I can’t let things like that prevent me from practicing my Japanese, so it really would be in my best interest to get them made.

I think the reason I put it off is that I have horrible handwriting. I’m not really sure why I do, it’s just something that has always been (gave my teachers endless trouble in school). Considering how very skilled I am with my hands (gaming, typing, cooking, etc, etc) you’d think I’d have the dexterity to create some perfect looking flashcards, alas I seem to lack any semblance of artistic talent.

Well, I guess I’m just going to have to man up and make them anyway (let’s just hope they’ll be able to read them). =P Alright, I’m off to take some Tylenol and get to sleep. おやすみなさい (Oyasumi nasai!) =D

-Felirc-

6 Responses to Well, I’ve got another headache.

  1. Lol, if you have ‘horrible’ handwriting, then you should definitely check out my latest post (hint) 😀

    • felirc says:

      Really nice, I like the new layout! =D

      Unfortunately it doesn’t currently help me much (although I’m sure it will be nice in the future). You see, my handwriting is bad in English, let alone Japanese. =P Besides, since I’m creating the flashcards for people who don’t know Japanese, I’ll need to rely on Romanji.

      I didn’t end up checking my blog until rather late tonight, so I’ll have to look into Lang-8 tomorrow some time. Still, it does sound like a nice little site to work on my writing. Although, I really need to go through the effort to get the keyboard stickers and set a proper Kana layout. It’s downright painful trying to copy and paste all of the characters I need to complete a sentence. =P

      -Felirc-

      • Haha, thanks!
        And you dont need to attach stickers on your keys, you just type romaji.

      • felirc says:

        I didn’t know that. I haven’t really played around with typing in Japanese yet. Speaking of which, I was wondering how they were managing to type out specific Kanji instant messaging programs so quickly (I saw them doing it on Durarara). I mean, I’d think you’d have to memorize a ton of different ascii like codes to accomplish such a thing.

        -Felirc-

  2. nonono, when you type kanji you basically type romaji (yes there are other ways but this is the fastest). When you type a word, usually the most popular kanji appears first, if its not the correct one, you hit the space (depending on your system) or can choose from a menu holding all the kanji with the same romaji sound. When you type a whole sentence, usually it gets the correct corresponding kanji in combination with kana. It’s quite intelligent. If you can type kana on your computer, then you also have kanji.

    • felirc says:

      That’s pretty interesting! Ever since I watched that anime I was wondering how they were managing it. =D Course, it does kind of suck that they have to rely on the program to do it for them. Still, I guess if the system is designed that way to begin with, it wouldn’t be too bad.

      P.S. I’m not sure when it’s being held, but good luck on the JLPT test (I noticed the comment on your blog)! =D

      -Felirc-

Leave a Reply

