Happy New Year!

Well, I moved on again in my lesson tonight. You know, I’m finding that it’s taking a lot more time to review my old lessons than it once did. =P Ah well, it’s good to stay sharp with them while I move on. I don’t think it would be as necessary if I had someone that I spoke the language with regularly, but for now I’m pretty much stuck with just using my various tools.

I forgot to mention that I did learn how to use my Kodansha’s Kanji Learner’s Dictionary. It’s surprisingly simple, and yet still rather hard. =P The main problem with looking up Kanji is that you have to count the strokes. A person would think this is easy, but some strokes they do, aren’t what I would have thought. If you’re like me, you’ll have some trouble looking up Kanji until you learn how the various strokes are done.

I’d kind of like to give an example, but the main one I had a problem with so far is kinda hard to do with plain text. Basically, if you draw a box you would expect it to be done with 4 strokes. Things are never so easy, are they? =P

First they draw the left line (one stroke), follow that up with the top and right side of the box (one stroke! o.O), and then give you the bottom (for a total of three strokes). It’s not that I have a problem with drawing the character this way, but you’d think something in the book would have told me that this common shape is drawn this way. I mean, they do call it a Kanji Learner’s Dictionary.

Still, despite this hurdle (and I’m sure I’ll come across a few more as I try to translate something), it’s an amazing book. I can definitely say that it was one of the better purchases I made.

Alright, I’m running on a bit long here. おやすみなさい (Oyasumi nasai!) =D

P.S. あけましておめでとうございます (I think that’s how you say Happy New Year in Japanese. =P)

-Felirc-

Leave a Reply

